The Star of the Sea, the Sea of Sorrow

Today, in honor of the special devotion of the Church during the month of May to the Blessed Virgin, I offer a five-day prayer to Mary with St. Catherine of Siena:

mary-01-mary-renders-your-cross-lighter“Mary renders your cross lighter.”
Beautiful image from the now-shuttered blog
Holy Card Heaven.

Preparatory Prayer:
O Saint Catherine of Siena, my guardian and patron, assist me at this hour and join with me in this Novena to the Queen of the Rosary, so that through thine intercession, I may obtain the grace that I desire.
Amen.

V. O God, come unto my assistance;
R. O Lord, make haste to help me.
V. Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Ghost,
R. As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be. Amen.

1. O Virgin Immaculate and Queen of the Rosary, in these days of dead faith and triumphant impiety, where men worship false gods and demons, thou, as Mother of Divine grace, scatter everywhere the treasures of Heavenly mercies.
Have pity on me who has such great need of thy assistance.

Hail, Holy Queen
Hail, Holy Queen, Mother of Mercy, our life, our sweetness, and our hope.
To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve;
to thee do send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this valley of tears.
Turn then, O most gracious advocate, thine eyes of mercy toward us, and after this our exile, show unto us the blessed fruit of thy womb, Jesus.
O clement, O loving, O sweet Virgin Mary!

V. Pray for us, O Holy Mother of God.
R. That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

2. Humbly bending at the foot of thy throne, O great and glorious Lady, my soul venerates thee. In spite of my trials and tribulations, I raise my eyes with confidence to thee. Be thou moved to pity for this soul of mine which lies trampled in mire. Have mercy on me, for I am filled beyond measure with misery and humiliation. Thou who art the Help of Christians, draw me from the tribulations wherein I am miserably entangled. Thou who art our life, triumph over the death which threatens my soul in these dangers to which I find myself exposed; give me peace again, tranquility, love and salvation.
Hail Holy Queen…

3. With my heart upon my lips and with lively faith, I call upon thee and invoke thee: my Mother, dearest Mother, Mother fairest, Mother gentlest, help me!
Hail, Holy Queen…

4. Mary, solace of the wretched, comfort of the desolate, consolation of the afflicted, I confess to thee: my soul is exceedingly sorrowful, weighed down as it is by countless sins, it deserves the fires of Hell, it is unworthy to receive thy favors. But as the hope of the hopeless, the great mediatrix between man and God, our powerful advocate at the throne of the Most High, and the refuge of sinners, only say the word in my behalf to thy Divine Son, and He will hear and answer thee. Such is my hope. Amen.
Hail, Holy Queen…

5. O Virgin and Queen of the Holy Rosary, Daughter of our Heavenly Father, Mother of God the Son, and the Bride of the Holy Spirit with His sevenfold gift. I ask this favor of thee through Immaculate Conception, thy Divine Motherhood, thy joys, thy sorrows and thy triumphs; I ask of it thee through the Heart of thy dear Jesus, and the nine months wherein thou didst carry Him in thy bosom, the hardships of His life, His bitter passion, His death on the Cross, His most Holy Name, the shedding of His Precious Blood; finally I ask it of thee through thine own most sweet heart and thy glorious name, O Mary, thou who art the Star of the Sea, the Sea of Sorrow, the Gate of Heaven, and the Mother of Every Grace. Amen.
Hail, Holy Queen…

V. Make me worthy to praise thee, O sacred Virgin;
R. Give me strength against thine enemies.
V. Pray for us, O Queen of the most Holy Rosary,
R. That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Let us pray.
O God, Whose only begotten Son, by His death, and Resurrection, hath purchased for us the rewards of everlasting life; grant, we beseech thee, that we, who meditate upon these mysteries of the most holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary, may both imitate what they contain, and attain what to what they promise. Through the same Christ our Lord. Amen.

Hail Mary
Hail Mary, full of grace. The Lord is with Thee. Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.
Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the
hour of our death.
Amen.

(Adapted from this source.)


Citing this page:
Solomon, Alana. “The Star of the Sea, the Sea of Sorrow.” Ortolana Studio & Press. Ortolana Studio & Press, 1 May 2017.

Leave a Reply

