The Medievalist Wife & The Philosopher Husband Go to New York: A Long-Overdue Update

Hello out there. I’ve been away for quite awhile, and I’m not sorry to say that I haven’t completed my little publication. I’m not sorry, because I’ve been very busy getting up to things such as….

…getting married!

While on our honeymoon, I was offered a little part-time job on top of school hours. I’ve also been busy applying as a transfer student…and at the end of the summer, we will be moving to Vestal, NY because I will be transferring to Binghamton University, home of CEMERS, to major in Medieval and Early Modern Studies!

So, planning and having a wedding, living newlywed life, both of us studying and applying and planning on a huge move, plus the season of Lent have had me away from making any real updates (outside of instagram). However, I do still have many creative projects in the works and I’d like to update more often.

One ongoing project is my personal prayer book.

20170413 Easter Flowers prayer book

It’s nothing I’m offering for sale or any type of professional display, but I would like to share it with you all in parts. Appropriate to the season, here are a couple of the pages from the opening section to start morning prayers.

20170414 pp08-08a Good FridayThe Blessed Virgin Mary, St. Mary Magdalene, and Christ Jesus crucified. After a 1483 woodcut from “The Legendary History of the Cross,” published by Veldener.

I hope this post finds you in good spirits. xo A.


Source:
Veldener, Johann, William Caxton, and John Ashton. The Legendary History of the Cross: A Series of Sixty-four Woodcuts from a Dutch Book. London: T.F. Unwin, 1886. Print.
Citing this page:

Solomon, Alana. “The Medievalist Wife & The Philosopher Husband Go to New York: A Long-Overdue Update.” Ortolana Studio & Press. Ortolana Studio & Press, 13 Apr. 2017.

One thought on “The Medievalist Wife & The Philosopher Husband Go to New York: A Long-Overdue Update

Leave a Reply

